Taking a Break for Some DIY

by Russ

Attn Redditors: HOLY COW FRONT PAGE!  Thanks for all the great feedback!  Hope you enjoy.

So today I woke up to an all to common occurrence: my damn night stand had gotten cluttered and somehow moved about a foot away from the actual bed!  Frustrated, I decided to finally solve the problem!  Along with learning 日本語, I’ve also made a strong push to minimize things in my daily life.  After successfully keeping my home office desk clutter free for 1 month, I was having a much harder time with my night stand (or bed side table).  But, one key thing I wanted to keep in mind was that I don’t want my quest for minimalism to cost money.  So this entire thing needed to be built with spare materials!  Luckily, I had some scrap wood that was mostly cut to shape already.  I used a jig saw and drill as my primary tools.  Once I got 4 pieces lined up the way I wanted, I realized I wanted a special port for my iPhone.  The photos start with the creation of the iPhone ‘dock.’  はじめます!

Once I new where I wanted my phone, I used the biggest drill bit and the smallest jig saw blade to cut it out.

Once I new where I wanted my phone, I used the biggest drill bit and the smallest jig saw blade to cut it out.

Once you have the hole in the center, just cut from the hole to your markings. We'll sand out the rough spots later.

Once you have the hole in the center, just cut from the hole to your markings. We’ll sand out the rough spots later.

”げええええ" says the board!  Gotta clean up those edges.

”げええええ” says the board! Gotta clean up those edges.

Much better!

Much better!

It took me 1じかん to finally realize that the best way, is most often the simplest.  By splitting out two staple gun staples and hammering them in I get a lot of room for the cable to come in and out.

It took me 1じかん to finally realize that the best way, is most often the simplest. By splitting out two staple gun staples and hammering them in I get a lot of room for the cable to come in and out.

みますか?

みますか?

Now to glue them all together.  You'll noticed that I scrapped up the glued sides to get plenty of traction.

Now to glue them all together. You’ll noticed that I scrapped up the glued sides to get plenty of traction.

Clamp to dry.

Clamp to dry.

Adding screws from the bottom to secure the recently glued pieces.

Adding screws from the bottom to secure the recently glued pieces.

2013-02-02 17.19.28

Took a break to go get some food. いただきます!

Now I missed some photo’s below, but basically I spent an hour or so sanding.  Can’t really make that exciting right?

Glued and nailed a board to the back that is then secured to the rear side of the head board for the bed.

Glued and nailed a board to the back that is then secured to the rear side of the head board for the bed.

Done!

Done!

2013-02-02 19.00.00

やった!

Don’t worry, that wire drove me so crazy that I moved it behind the bed all together.